The O’Connell Companies’ leadership team brings diverse experience to all of our projects.

Dennis Fitzpatrick

President/CEO, The O’Connell Companies

Mr. Fitzpatrick is responsible for oversight of the successful management and strategic direction of The O’Connell Companies and its subsidiaries, including two construction companies, real estate development and property management divisions, New England Fertilizer  Company (NEFCO) and Sealand Enviro, an environmental services company. Mr. Fitzpatrick’s 30 years of industry experience include the development and construction of commercial, institutional, retail, retirement, and educational facilities. A focused and engaged leader, Mr. Fitzpatrick has been responsible for the construction and completion of more than 50 major projects, including heavy/civil and building projects throughout the Northeast.

Mr. Fitzpatrick has served as both a board member and chair for local, regional and national committees, including the Board of Directors for the Massachusetts Business Roundtable, the Board of Directors of the Economic Development Council of Western Massachusetts, and the  Civil Engineering Advisory Committee for the University of Massachusetts. In the past, he has served as the chairman of the American Heart Association Gala, as well as Chair of the Board of Trustees for Sisters of Providence Health System and Catholic East. Mr. Fitzpatrick holds a Master of Science in Civil Engineering from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

James N. Sullivan

President, O’Connell Development Group; Treasurer, The O’Connell Companies

Mr. Sullivan has been with The O’Connell Companies since beginning his professional career in 1982. He was appointed president of O’Connell Development Group (ODG) in January 2017. As president of ODG he is responsible for the successful management and strategic direction of our development company and its subsidiaries. These responsibilities include real estate development, commercial property acquisitions and divestitures, property and asset management services, and energy management services. He also serves as managing partner of ODG subsidiary New England Fertilizer Company (NEFCO). As treasurer of The O’Connell Companies, he has an extensive background in the financial, legal, and contractual issues associated with development and construction projects.

Mr. Sullivan earned a Bachelor of Science in finance from the University of Massachusetts and a Master of Science in finance from Western New England College. He is Chairman of the Holyoke Boys & Girls’ Club and serves on the organization’s executive and finance committees. In addition, Mr. Sullivan served on the board of directors of AGC of Massachusetts and its risk management and bonding subcommittees.

Martin Schoenemann

Financial Vice President, The O’Connell Companies

Mr. Schoenemann has overall responsibility and direction of The O’Connell Companies and its subsidiaries’ financial management and information systems, taxation, and audits. His 29 years of experience in the industry include development, syndication, construction, and taxation of various commercial, residential, and retail projects undertaken by the company. In addition, Mr. Schoenemann oversees major benefit programs, acting as chair of the pension and profit sharing committee for various retirement plans for the company and its subsidiaries. Mr. Schoenemann is also involved with financing, leasing, and line of credit transactions for the company and its subsidiaries.

A CPA and member of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants and the Massachusetts Society of Certified Public Accountants, Mr. Schoenemann earned a Bachelor of Science in business from Western New England College and a Master of Science in taxation from the University of Hartford. He is on the board of directors of The O’Connell Companies and its subsidiaries and also serves on the boards and finance committees of Valley Health Systems and Holyoke Medical Center. He is a member of the Holyoke Rotary Club and former president and treasurer of the Springfield Jaycees.